BJP MLAs including former CM Bommai detained outside Karnataka Assembly

BJP MLAs, including former CM Basavaraj Bommai, who were protesting outside the Karnataka Assembly, were detained and taken away in a police vehicle.

BJP MLAs, including former Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, were detained and taken to Vidhana Soudha police station for protesting outside the Karnataka Assembly against the suspension of 10 party MLAs. JD(S)’s number two leader and former Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy also briefly joined the BJP during the protests. Bommai termed the suspension as “illegal” and “murder of democracy”. He alleged that the Siddaramaiah government has adopted a “dictatorial” attitude and is trying to suppress the voice of the opposition. ‘We will take this issue to the people.’ Speaker UT Khadar on Wednesday suspended ten BJP MLAs from the Karnataka Assembly for the rest of the session for their “indecent and disrespectful conduct” in the House. The 10 MLAs are CN Ashwath Narayan, V Sunil Kumar, R Ashok, Araga Gyanendra (all former ministers), D Vedavyas Kamath, Yashpal Suvarna, Dhiraj Muniraj, A Umanath Kotian, Arvind Belad and Y Bharat Shetty. The assembly session began on July 3 and is scheduled to end on July 21. The Speaker’s action came after the House witnessed chaotic scenes as some BJP members tore copies of bills and agenda and threw them at the Speaker as they were upset. On the decision of the Speaker to conduct the proceedings of the House without giving lunch break. It was amid the BJP’s protest against the Congress government for its alleged “misuse” of IAS officers for a meeting of opposition leaders from across the country held in Bengaluru over the past two days.

catch all politics news And updates on Live Mint. download mint news app to receive daily market update & Live business News,


Updated: July 19, 2023, 08:29 PM IST