Former minister and sitting MLA UT Khadar registers fifth consecutive win in Mangaluru Mangaluru News – Times of India

Mangaluru: former minister and current legislator union territories Khadar On Saturday, he registered his fifth consecutive victory in the Mangaluru constituency by securing 82,637 votes in the Karnataka Assembly elections.


Karnataka Election 2023 Result: Supporters of Karnataka Congress chief DK Shivakumar celebrate in Bengaluru

Khadar maintained his lead since the counting of votes began at NITK Surathkal on Saturday morning and won by a margin of 22,977 votes. Whereas, BJP’s Satish Kumpala got 59,660 votes.
In fact, Khadar, confident of victory, was seen playing cricket and football with children in Ullal and meeting his supporters.

It's cricket for Congress candidate from Mangaluru, UT Khadar, who is leading Karnataka 2023 election results


It’s cricket for Congress candidate from Mangaluru, UT Khadar, who is leading Karnataka 2023 election results

Since he served as the Deputy Leader of the Opposition, he is expected to get a prominent position in the state cabinet.

Khader told reporters near the counting center that this election was “about truth and lies. This election battle was about ignorance and knowledge.”
On the results of the state, he said that the public is troubled by price rise, corruption, hatred, discrimination and oppression and has shown the BJP its place. “The pain of the people is reflected on the ballot paper”.
“We must remember that the public is watching us closely and will give a befitting reply at the right time. Karnataka is not like any other state. The public looks at various aspects before voting.
Responding to a question, he said he had received a call from the party leadership asking him to leave for Bengaluru immediately after the results were declared.
The BJP hoped that it would benefit from the fight between the SDPI and the Congress.
Sources said the SDPI has been working hard to establish its presence in the constituency, Khader campaigned and his team worked hard to ensure his victory.
The constituency is dominated by minorities and Khadar’s family has held the fort for the last two decades.
SDPI campaigned hard this time, however, the party’s candidate Riyaz Farangipete managed to garner 15,029 votes.
Meanwhile, AAP candidate secured 331 votes, Deepak Rajesh Kolho (India) secured 240 votes.
Around 709 NOTA votes were polled in the constituency.
In the 2018 election, Khader secured 80,813 votes, while BJP’s Santosh Kumar Rai Boliaru secured 61,074 votes, indicating that Khader has improved his performance this time.