HD Kumaraswamy says JD(S) will work together with BJP as opposition in the interest of Karnataka

Image Source: PTI Former Karnataka CMs Basavaraj Bommai, HD Kumaraswamy, others stage protest against Karnataka Speaker.

Karnataka: JD(S) leader and former Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy on Friday announced that his party has decided to work together with the BJP as the opposition in the interest of the state.

Ever since the Karnataka election results earlier this year, there has been speculation about JD(S) joining forces with the BJP in the state. However, the JD(S) has still not confirmed whether it will be a part of the NDA in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Suspense remains on JD(S) joining NDA in 2024

Stating that party supremo and former prime minister HD Deve Gowda has authorized him to take any final decision regarding the party, he said there is still time in the run-up to the Parliament elections to talk about it.

Kumaraswamy was replying to a question on a discussion held at the JD(S) Legislature Party meeting on Thursday night, which was also attended by Gowda, amid reports of JD(S)’s possibility of an alliance with the NDA ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

“I have already said inside and outside the assembly that since both BJP and JD(S) are opposition parties, it has been decided to work together in the interest of the state. This morning also our party MLAs discussed how to move forward,” he said.

Talking to reporters, he said, in the Legislature Party meeting, Gowda has advised that after taking the opinion of all the leaders, a 10-member team with representation of all communities will have to be formed to raise voice against the party organization. Misdeeds of this (Congress) government in all 31 districts.

He said, “There is still 11 months for the parliamentary elections. Let’s see when the parliamentary elections come. It was advised to organize the party. Also, Deve Gowda has said that he has authorized me to take any final decision regarding the party.”

In the elections to the 224-member assembly held in May, the Congress got 135 seats, while the BJP got 66 and the JD(S) 19.

More to follow…