Karnataka Election 2023 LIVE: Today is the last day for filing nominations; CM Bommai will hold rallies in Bidar

The day after fielding Mohammad Yusuf Sawnur as its candidate from Shiggaon in Haveri district, the party nominated Yasir Ahmad Khan Fatan in his place.

Meanwhile, the BJP also released its fourth list, which names candidates for the remaining two constituencies, Shivamogga and Manvi. In Shivamogga BJP has given ticket to Channabasappa denying the family of sitting MLA and senior BJP leader KS Eshwarappa.

With their final lists, both the BJP and the Congress have announced candidates for all the 224 assembly constituencies in the state.

congress star campaigner list

The Congress also released its star campaigners list, with two high-profile names doing the rounds – one to make it and the other to be dropped. While former Karnataka Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar, who joined the Congress after quitting the BJP this week, features in the Congress list, the name of Sachin Pilot, who is making headlines for his secret feud with Ashok Gehlot. Not in list.

The list of 40 star campaigners also includes party chief Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Shashi Tharoor. The Congress’ list of star campaigners also includes stalwarts like former Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Karnataka Congress chief DK Shivakumar, Jairam Ramesh, M Veerappa Moily, MB Patil, G Parameshwara, KH Muniyappa and BK Hariprasad.

List of star campaigners of BJP

Meanwhile, the list of BJP’s star campaigners has also created a stir as Bengaluru South MP Tejasvi Surya’s name does not figure in it. Tejashwi is an RSS Swayamsevak and Yuva Morcha President of the BJP, known for his strong Hindutva politics, and has been dropped from the list of star campaigners, which includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi, JP Nadda, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Himanta Biswa are included. Sarma, Devendra Fadnavis, Smriti Irani, Nirmala Sitharaman, came as a surprise to many.

Karnataka elections: 935 candidates file nominations

On Wednesday, the first day of filing nominations, 935 candidates filed their papers, including heavyweights like Siddaramaiah from Varuna, Jagadish Shettar from Hubli-Dharwad Central and Chief Minister Bommai from Shiggaon.

In most of the districts, the process of filing nominations was grand and the rallies of the candidates jammed the streets in a show of strength. Many candidates visited monasteries and offered prayers at temples before reaching the office of the returning officers.

Thursday is the last day for filing nominations and the parties have announced tickets for the remaining seats.

‘My last election’, says Siddaramaiah

Senior Congress leader and former chief minister Siddaramaiah on Wednesday filed his nomination from Varuna constituency in the district for the May 10 Karnataka Assembly polls as he reiterated that this would be his last election and prepared a “succession plan” of sorts. Did.

The 75-year-old leader of the opposition indicated that his son and grandson would be his political successors. “This is my last election, followed by Yatindra (son), Dhawan Rakesh (grandson)…”, he said.

Siddaramaiah’s younger son Dr. Yatindra Siddaramaiah is the sitting Congress MLA from Varuna.

An eight-time MLA, Siddaramaiah had previously won from Varuna twice, and after winning from here in 2008 became the Leader of the Opposition, and then the Chief Minister after the 2013 assembly elections.

PM Modi, Shah and Yogi Adityanath will campaign for BJP candidates

Party sources said Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to reach Udupi on May 4 to attend a convention of BJP workers. Adityanath is also expected to accompany Modi, he said.

BJP Udupi district president Kuiladi Suresh Nayak indicated that the Prime Minister would attend a convention of party workers ahead of the May 10 assembly elections in Karnataka.

A huge ceremony will be held in the city or any other suitable place for the yatra. Sources said that the national leaders have informed the district party about this matter. PM Modi is expected to address at least 15-20 rallies ahead of the assembly elections in Karnataka.

Besides this, Shah is also scheduled to hold roadshows in Davanagere and Devanahalli on April 21 and 22 and attend several organizational meetings in Bengaluru as the BJP’s campaign to retain power in the state gathers pace.

Party sources said Shah will be in the state from April 20 to 23 and will leave for Telangana on the last day to attend political programs in Telangana’s Chevella Lok Sabha seat.

Shah’s roadshow is expected to give a boost to the party’s public relations in Karnataka. His multiple meetings with state party leaders spearheading the campaign are expected to fine-tune the poll strategy.

karnataka assembly election

The Karnataka assembly elections will be held in a single phase on May 10, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 13. The Congress is trying to oust the BJP from power in the southern state.

read all latest india news Here