Karnataka election result: CM Bommai admits defeat, says will introspect and will return in 2024

Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai campaigning during the Karnataka elections in Shiggaon constituency on May 4, 2023. (PTI)

Outgoing Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said that we will analyze the Karnataka election results and look into the shortcomings. He won his election from Shiggaon constituency

karnataka election 2023

Accepting the BJP’s defeat in Karnataka elections 2023, outgoing Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai on Saturday said the party would introspect and come back in time for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

At 12:35 pm, the saffron party was leading on 69 seats, well short of the majority mark of 113 in the 224-seat Karnataka Assembly. Congress was leading on 125 seats, while JDS was leading on 25 seats.

“We will analyze karnataka election result And see the shortcomings. We will reconstitute the party and come back for the Lok Sabha polls. We will introspect the results and see what went wrong,” Bommai told media persons.

The Chief Minister won from his constituency Shiggaon.

The BJP’s campaign focused on the double-engine government and national issues, while the Congress ran a local campaign.

Since April 29, PM Narendra Modi’s campaign has gone on steadily with 18 mega public meetings and six roadshows. The PM campaigned for votes for BJP candidates across the state with the slogan ‘E Bariya Nirdhara, Bahumatada BJP Sarkar’ (The verdict this time: BJP government with a majority).

Several BJP leaders, including the party’s national president JP Nadda, Yogi Adityanath of Uttar Pradesh, Himanta Biswa Sarma of Assam, Shivraj Singh Chouhan of Madhya Pradesh, Pramod Sawant of Goa as well as chief ministers of BJP-ruled states like Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, S Jaishankar Leaders Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari among others have also traveled to different parts of the state for campaigning.

After facing difficulties in forming a government on its own in 2008 and 2018 as it fell short of a majority despite emerging as the single largest party, the BJP was hoping for a clear mandate this time with an absolute majority. And had set a target of winning at least 150 seats