UP Municipal Election Results 2023: BJP disappoints SP and BSP, wins all 17 mayoral seats

UP Municipal Election Result 2023: The counting of votes for the Urban Local Body (ULB) elections in Uttar Pradesh took place on Saturday. Seventeen mayors were elected after the results were announced on Saturday. with Shahjahanpur getting its first mayor, as the city became a municipal corporation in 2018. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won all 17 mayoral seats including Jhansi, Saharanpur, Mathura, Ayodhya, Moradabad, Bareilly, Meerut, Kanpur, Prayagraj, Agra, Aligarh, Firozabad, Lucknow, Gorakhpur, Varanasi, Ghaziabad, and Shahjahanpur.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath thanked the people and congratulated BJP workers for the party’s landslide victory in the urban local body elections and forming a “triple engine government” in the state.

In a tweet in Hindi, he said, “Hearty congratulations to all the dedicated and hardworking workers of BJP and the people of Uttar Pradesh, who want good governance, on BJP’s landslide victory in the Uttar Pradesh municipal elections.”

Adityanath led the campaign for the urban local body elections, holding several election meetings across the state. During the campaign, he repeatedly urged voters to add a third wheel or third engine to a “double-engine” government in Uttar Pradesh.