BJP sets record with clean sweep in UP local body polls, Adityanath hails ‘triple engine govt’

Last Update: May 13, 2023, 21:26 IST

File photo of Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath. (Image: PTI)

The urban local body elections were held in two phases to elect 17 mayors and 1,401 corporators.

Adding a “third engine” to its “double-engine” government, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party on Saturday registered a landslide victory in the high-voltage Uttar Pradesh urban local body (ULB) polls, as the BJP swept the mayoral elections in all Won. 17 municipal corporations and set a record. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath thanked the people and congratulated the BJP workers for the landslide victory.

Taking to Twitter, Adityanath said, “Hearty congratulations to all the dedicated and hardworking workers of BJP and the people of Uttar Pradesh who love good governance, on BJP’s landslide victory in the Uttar Pradesh Municipal Corporation elections. This massive victory reflects the immense faith of the people in the successful guidance of respected Prime Minister Narendra Modi ji and the pro-people, developmental and all-inclusive policies of the double engine government.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi also congratulated Adityanath, BJP candidates and workers for the clean sweep in the elections and said the party’s victory reflected people’s support for the state’s “unprecedented” development.

“Many congratulations to all the workers and candidates of @BJP4UP for this stupendous victory in the civic elections. This success reflects the people’s support for the unprecedented development taking place in the state under the leadership of @myogiadityanath ji,” tweeted PM Modi.

Union ministers Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and other BJP leaders also congratulated Adityanath and party workers for the victory.

Highlights of ULB Election Results

  • The urban local body elections were held in two phases – on May 4 and May 11 – to elect 17 mayors and 1,401 corporators. According to the UP Election Commission, nineteen corporators were elected unopposed.
  • In Ayodhya, BJP candidate Girish Pati Tripathi won the mayoral election by defeating Ashish of Samajwadi Party (SP) by a margin of 35,638 votes. Tripathi got 77,494 votes.
  • In Prayagraj, Umesh Chandra Ganesh Kesarwani won over 2.35 lakh votes and defeated SP’s Ajay Kumar Srivastava who got over 1.06 lakh votes.
  • In Ghaziabad, BJP candidate Sunita Dayal secured 3,50,905 votes to defeat BSP’s Nisara Khan by 63,249 votes.
  • Voting was also held to elect 198 chairpersons and 5,260 members of Municipal Councils, 542 chairpersons of Nagar Panchayats and 7,104 members of Nagar Panchayats.
  • Overall, 162 people’s representatives were elected unopposed, while 83,378 candidates were in the fray for 14,522 posts.
  • In the last urban local bodies elections held in 2017, there were three phases and the overall voter turnout was 53 per cent. The BJP had won 14 of the 16 municipal corporations, while the rest in Meerut and Aligarh were won by the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

(With inputs from PTI)